Sign in to follow this  
Sigitas Duoblis

Incredible rejections!

Can anyone explain for me? All rejections is 

image.png.85211c7ecf64b5fc27188832ae8a6b7a.png

And it is my Title: Lancashire hotpot is a stew originating from Lancashire in the North West of England. It consists of lamb or mutton and onion, topped with sliced potatoes and baked in a heavy pot on a low heat.

Reads like an encyclopedia entry rather than a photo caption ("is a") ("it consists") --  

A LOT of people seem to misunderstand the "title must be 'descriptive'" part and think they need to describe what the subject in the photo is all about, instead of describing what is to be seen in the photo. I have a degree in art history and describing images was a major part of my studies and these kind of descriptions make me cringe a lot. It's all wrong and not helpful to the customer, because the image will show up when people search for wors like "North", "West", "low heat" or "heavy pot" - all things that can't be found in the photo. (And before someone starts that argument - YES, words from the title are included in the search. It has been tested and proven in the forum many times)

However, I don't think this was the problem here, because I see these kinds of descriptions on Shutterstock all the time. I think the reviewer did not know what "Lancashire" is.

1 hour ago, Sigitas Duoblis said:

And it is my Title: Lancashire hotpot is a stew originating from Lancashire in the North West of England. It consists of lamb or mutton and onion, topped with sliced potatoes and baked in a heavy pot on a low heat.