My first month here. Sharing experiences and would love some feedback

Hi all. I'm seeing people writing about the start of their Shutterstock journey here and as a beginner I've found their stories interesting and helpful so I wanted to share my experiences too. I'm a hobbyist photographer and I'm new to stock photography. I started uploading one month ago and I've been uploading 3-5 pictures a day and have 136 images in my port. I've made 11 sales and have earned $5.63 so far. First two weeks went without a single sale and I was almost ready to give up, but then sales started to slowly pour in - first two images a week, then 3 and, finally, last Friday I sold 3 images in one day (probably won't happen again any time soon...)!

My uploading speed has been pretty slow because I want to learn what kind of images sell to avoid uploading and keywording images that have very little chance of selling. That's why I've been trying to upload different kind of images. I've sold two cat photos so I think I'll keep uploading them despite the market being saturated in that area. I've sold only one nature photo and one photo with a person in it so far. Of course, one month is not enough to make any conclusions yet so I will continue uploading different kind of things to see if I can find my niche.

One thing that is giving me a headache is that I don't really understand where my images would be used so I'm unsure how to crop images. Do I want to crop them tightly so they look better in search results or should I leave more space around the subject to allow the buyer to make the final decision on composition?

I'm thinking of starting uploading videos too, but the review process is so ridiculously slow that it is really killing my motivation and I'm not sure if videos even sell at all.