Hey everyone! 

Thought I'd better intro myself... before I go too mental with the SS newbie questions 😊

My name is Hope and I'm from Perth Australia. 

I am a former graphic designer and always wanted to shoot for iStock, based on how much I purchased from them on behalf of clients.

I ended up selling my business when I had my first son, and started to shoot for iStock. I was doing pretty good, but going exclusive was a big mistake as my income dropped substantially. Eeep. I felt quite disheartened and had a break for about 2 years (and had another little boy).

I have now dropped exclusivity and plan to upload my stuff to the other big sites... So here I am at Shutterstock. 

I must say, I really love how the submission approvals are done so quickly at shutter! 

So back into the stock mode... 
Well as much as I can be with a 2 and 5 year old underfoot :)

... what about you guys? 
been doing stock long? 
what do you love about it? 
anyone else from Aus?
Or trying to get the stock images on with young kids at home? hahaha

Hope 

Welcome to Shutterstock. I have been here for about 12 years. I have to say that things are not like they used to be. The stock business has changed from when I got here and to me that effects the income that can be made. Now there are so many images in stock databases that it dilutes the chances for sales. Good solid images of subjects that have good commercial interest will always do well but just not at the level they used to.

It takes dedication to do well. Continuing to submit good quality images that have good commercial value and that have been keyworded properly will always to me be good advice. You have a great opportunity with your new child. Images of children and family life have always been good sellers.

For me I am not doing stock as much as I did. The dissatisfaction with the industry as well as two grandchildren to watch everyday has cut into my time to produce images.