AndreiL

Are wildlife photography selling?

This category is not entirely successful. Others have more marketability. But it's fine hobbies. Not for earnings. Especially for the last two years, sales have worsened. You have to have a big port. It is also important equipment. Ordinary technique will not be enough. Full Frame DSLR plus light-long lenses. It's a challenging discipline. Compared to time consuming, there is no earnings corresponding to the effort expended.

As a wildlife birds photographer I would def say no. Some images sale, but overall its not as popular as human pics, or everything done by humans - products, travel photos, architecture, so on. We humans are egocentric af. If you want better sales, dont try wildlife, plus as Michal said - its demanding, lenses are the most expensive out of all lenses, requires knowledge, skills and luck and at the end of the day you get a lousy .25 cents. Not worth it.

My port is mainly wildlife and I do sell regularly - not huge numbers compared to a lot of contributors on here, but it gives me a fairly regular monthly bonus - If this is a hobby and you enjoy it (like me), then carry on and anything you sell is a bonus.  If you want to make a living out of it - it will be expensive and very time consuming and don't expect to make huge amounts.

if you look at michal-ninger image port above - he has some amazing stuff - so that's the competition you are up against.

Good Luck

1 hour ago, Michal Ninger said:

This category is not entirely successful. Others have more marketability. But it's fine hobbies. Not for earnings. Especially for the last two years, sales have worsened. You have to have a big port. It is also important equipment. Ordinary technique will not be enough. Full Frame DSLR plus light-long lenses. It's a challenging discipline. Compared to time consuming, there is no earnings corresponding to the effort expended.

+1