Sign in to follow this  
bhaji pav

When did you feel you were ready?

So I’ve been taking photos for a while. I work as an appraiser so I’ve been taking photos of homes for over 15 years. Just point and shoot stuff. This made me want to get into photography. About 3 months ago I got the canon M50. Funny thing I haven’t done anything with it. I want to do some portraits, and maybe some home interior stuff. I’ve shot my kids, wife, etc but haven’t really done anything. My wife friend saw a pic I shot of the kids and said wow I would pay your husband to do this for us.Nox Showbox Mobdro

Now I’m hesitant to do it because I don’t want to let her down. So this comes to the question how did you know you were ready? I’m sure I can do an ok job it’s just the getting paid I feel funny about. Then again I do want to get paid to this professionally one day. I think where I’m stuck is I don’t feel “professional” per say.

Now this is the rub. I have a friend that got a DSLR and she is shooting people in the park on full auto and charging them $60 for like 10 poses. She says hey people don’t care if your auto or not they just want cool pics. She doesn’t even post process. I’m messing with Lightroom trying to figure out light reading and I started to think about what she said. People don’t care how you take them to the destination, they just want to get there

bhaji,

Rudy is correct, don't be like your friend and the majority of new the contributors.  If you are actually interested in photography, learn it.   Don't embarrass yourself.  Learn how to make images that you are actually proud of, before joining here or hanging out your "shingle". 

I was 13 years old in 1978 when my dad bought me a 35mm DSLR.  I don't know if I felt "professional" at that point, but I did know I wanted to explore photography as an art form.