Simone Hogan

Amazing return on investment

Sold the first of my latest batch of downtown photos. $0.25 - whoo-hoo! Too bad the parking cost me 8 bucks. So, let's see... all I need is 31 more downloads and I will break even! And now I read people are getting as low as $1.30 for video clips. Definitely getting the feeling I came too late to this whole stock footage party.

Well your port does not really show anything related to stock photography. A few good images, but you need to shoot for stock, which means high quality, good composition, good lighting, images with good cv. You have some good images of people but a lot that look like snapshots and poor composition. I am no expert but the people buying the images are. So you need to provide something they will want and use. Which involves research.

41 minutes ago, Rhonda Roth said:

That's why I always try to find free parking :)

Stupid place used to be free after validation. Hadn't been there in a while - they changed the rules. But my point was, in general, it just doesn't seem worth the effort anymore.

33 minutes ago, Rudy Umans said:

I looked that up, just for the fun of it. I'd have to take the Breeze bus to the Sprinter to the MTS. It would cost $12.- and take almost three hours. Yeah. Not really a viable option around here.

2 minutes ago, Simone Hogan said:

I looked that up, just for the fun of it. I'd have to take the Breeze bus to the Sprinter to the MTS. It would cost $12.- and take almost three hours. Yeah. Not really a viable option around here.

Same where I live (Miami FL) practically non-existent 

2 hours ago, martin bowra said:

So you need to provide something they will want and use. Which involves research.

That's actually precisely the reason I went back down there - because my Limebike in front of the SD Marina sold as ODD a day after upload. Different buyers want different things. And I might actually have the tiniest clue about that, having personally spent $6,000 on Shutterstock :-)