I am a scientist  and I shoot a lot of Nature pictures (animals and plants). However, some of my pictures have been rejected because I used their scientific names (which are usually written in Latin or Greek) as keywords. Since it is a very common and sanctioned practice in the scientific world to refer to an animal or a plant by their scientific names when searching for a picture or referring to it, how does Shutterstock instruct their reviewers as to those scientific names? What is the policy in this case and how does Shutterstock educate their reviewers in that regard?

I am a scientist  and I shoot a lot of Nature pictures (animals and plants). However, some of my pictures have been rejected because I used their scientific names (which are usually written in Latin or Greek) as keywords. Since it is a very common and sanctioned practice in the scientific world to refer to an animal or a plant by their scientific names when searching for a picture or referring to it, how does Shutterstock instruct their reviewers as to those scientific names? What is the policy in this case and how does Shutterstock educate their reviewers in that regard?

Dear Henrique,

Your images are most likely not being rejected, because we accept scientific names, more likely they are picked up by the Content Editor as possibly being the wrong word.

If you receive a message in the Content Editor that some of the images contain errors, please click “continue” to go back to the editor, and correct each of the images that are marked in red (if necessary; If all text is correct, just select and hit submit again.) After you have done this for all images marked in red, select the images and click on "Submit for Review" again.

• 5 months later...

Dear Henrique,

Your images are most likely not being rejected, because we accept scientific names, more likely they are picked up by the Content Editor as possibly being the wrong word.