Taras Kushnir

Xpiks - open source software for microstocker

Hi everybody

I'm a programmer and microstocker at the same time and today I'm pleased to present my piece of free and open source software. It's named Xpiks (Cross-platform Image Keywoarding Software) - keywording and uploading tool for microstock photographers and illustrators. It was written from scratch with aim to make it more usefull, convenient and quicker than existing tools.

Program is available for OS X, Windows and Linux x64.

Main features:

• convenient keywording capabilities (XMP/IPTC metadata)
  • uploading images to Stock Agencies' FTP hosts (keeping encrypted list of credentials)
  • keywords suggestion based on Shutterstock API or on the local library
  • search through loaded images by any metadata
  • ability to upload vector (eps/ai) files along with images
  • automatically zip vectors and previews if needed
  • checks for potential problems before upload (insufficient resolution, missing metadata etc.)
  • checks spelling and proposes spell suggestions

Main website: http://ribtoks.github.io/xpiks/

UPD. Screencasts how to use Xpiks:
https://vimeo.com/153564940 - Introduction
https://vimeo.com/155296801 - Keywords editing
https://vimeo.com/155427686 - Using backups (.xpks files)

Tutorial part 1: http://ribtoks.github.io/xpiks/blog/2015/how-to-use-xpiks-part-1

Tutorial part 2: http://ribtoks.github.io/xpiks/blog/2015/how-to-use-xpiks-part-2

Tips and Tricks: http://ribtoks.github.io/xpiks/blog/2015/hidden-features

Any feedback would highly appreciated would it be good or bad. In case you've found any bugs or misfunction, please, check out this page (http://ribtoks.github.io/xpiks/blog/2015/how-to-report-an-error) on how to report it.

If you have any questions please, ask them in the Support section on the Xpiks Website, because it's hard to keep track of all forums. I will definitely respond within 24 hours (due to the difference in time zones).