Sign in to follow this  
Karin Hildebrand Lau

Need photos of the disabled and elderly

Hi all,

I want to change the graphic header on the website for the organization I work for, because quite frankly I'm tired of looking at it. Since Shutterstock has been so great to me as a photographer, I'm submitting this request exclusively through them.

The organization I work for lobbies on behalf of low-income seniors and people with disabilities who use the In-Home Supportive Services program in my state. This government program provides caregivers who assist their clients with daily tasks so they can live safely and independently in their homes, instead of a nursing home.

I'm searching for realistic photos of the following:

• * Elderly people at home with a caregiver (family member, friend, professional)
    * People with disabilities at home with a caregiver -- people include children or adults; disabilities include physical, developmental, or visual
    * Professionals with disabilities and their colleagues

It's really important that the photos don't look staged or use trendy, light colors (color contrast helps viewers with visual impairments). Warmth is key...please don't submit anything that feels sterile. The photos should convey the comforts of home and a sense of independence.

My organization doesn't use stock photos very often, so the winning photos will be purchased through StockToGo.com, which of course means a higher pay out to the photographer(s). :-)

Good luck!

Hello Karimala,

Mine might be a little abstract as well. It is a shot of an elderly woman's hands, at a table in her home. Nice rich dark colors, but no face.

http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-610612.html

When I pulled up my image, there were some similars that were shown that looked kind of promising. Maybe they will help your search.

Best of luck to you.

RB

Nice shot. Too bad there isn't more of the man in the photo. He has the character I'm looking for.