I've been away - has similar content criteria changed in the last year?

Imagine I've been hiding under a rock for a year or so (since the 10 cent thing started).

I thought I would give it another go and uploaded some photos.  Got hit with the similar content rejection.  Looking for help understanding why.

(and yes, they aren't awesome photos, I'm still learning)

https://download.shutterstock.com/gatekeeper/W3siZCI6ICJzaHV0dGVyc3RvY2stdXBsb2FkcyIsICJrIjogInBlbmRpbmdfcGhvdG8vMjUyMDgwMzQ3MS9tZWRpdW0uanBnIiwgImUiOiAxNjI2NzM1NTMyLCAibSI6IDB9LCAiRzVFaGVtL003OWwzOWdTUmtBaE5iTi9CakZZIl0=/2009687444_medium.jpg

was rejected but the closest I've uploaded is 

https://image.shutterstock.com/shutterstock/photos/2009687228/display_1500/stock-photo-bowl-of-pitted-stoned-cherries-on-a-wood-table-2009687228.jpg

which was approved.  

So I read the help page: https://support.submit.shutterstock.com/s/article/Why-was-my-content-rejected-for-Similar-Content?language=en_US

From my (untrained) eye, I feel this was significantly different.  One shows only pitted cherries with open space.  The other has both whole and pitted cherries with a cloth and no space for words to go.  They did share a lot of keywords.  

Can you help me understand how I can avoid this error in the future or was uploading two cherry photos in one day the problem?  

I also have the impression that people are more likely to be rejected because of similar. The rejection of the gooseberry was not justified, but I should have expected it.
The rejection of the two hedge bindweed flowers photographed in a completely different place because of similar is very strange.
The tractor in the other photo was also rejected because of similar. While it is photographed larger and in a different place driving the other way. Other accepted photo (also rejected for Missing Model Release while I had still faded just to be sure the driver's unrecognizable face ) 

similar.jpg