Useful small camera article

While there is some questions about the future of Olympus Cameras due to the purchase of the Olympus' camera division by JIP,  the EM 1 mark II sells for just under $1,000.00 and a 24-90 (equiv.) pro lens is right at $550.00.  This Pro level camera and lens provides far more features than any of the cameras mentioned in this article. 

I have been using Olympus cameras for the last four years (after selling my full frame Canon 5D II) and I would never consider using anything else.  In my opinion they are the best cameras I have ever owned especially for my genre, Nature and Travel.   One more option to consider.   

Thanks @Steve Bower

I purchased the Canon G5X.  At the time I didn't have any choice.  I needed a small camera I could afford, with some zoom capacity and, most importantly, a large  viewfinder that stands 'proud' and is not at the (wrong) far end.  I use my left eye for distance and can only use a viewfinder.  Sadly, at least a couple of years ago when I bought it, there weren't any other affordable options.

I noticed that the Sony Alpha 6000 range wasn't included. I have an old (3-4year old) Sony A6000 which cost then €600 incl equivalent 24-70mm kit lens. It fits in my pocket (photo/fisherman-jacket), it's APS-C 24MP and it produces the most amazingly sharp photo's. Now the same camera costs around €400 and it's been superceded by the 6100, 6400 and 6600. Fine if you want 4K video which mine doesn't have but for quality photo's and price, nothing else comes really close.

Yeah I notice the Canon G X was in there and not the M. I would have picked the M-50 instead. Interchangeable lenses, 4K, probably the same sensor, Digic 8 processor, mirrorless.

Looked today's prices:  GXIII $999 M-50 II $699 with a lens.

Yes I'm a Canon shooter, just pointing out my area of interest.

I've seen some of the new Sony cameras and they are really, really nice!