Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Allen, I'm a designer and illustrator, working in the field since the late 90s and self employed since 2005. I've used Shutterstock since around 2006 for a client who had an account for her one-man design firm, and later on, I joined SS on a high volume subscription. I have enjoyed the convenience of your art as a starting point for many of my design work over the years. Most of what I use is vector art I can go on to shape and tweak into other things, and almost none of the art I use looks like it did when I started. However, this has been the single most useful resource in my work over the years. Whenever another designer asks me how they can develop their skill and range, I start by referring them to Shutterstock.

Over time, I've begun to notice areas of content that have not been covered very well by Shutterstock illustrators and photographers, so I thought maybe I could contribute in those areas. (You know, like pets and flowers? Just kidding! xD) I was a contributor on iStockphoto back when they began, but it yielded very little income. Now I'm not really concerned about the income - just think it would be a fun exercise to try.

One more thing... I only have one complaint about shutterstock - it's keyword spam. When you need to produce 4 marketing campaigns in less than a week, and you're scouring stock libraries for graphic elements, some searches are littered with completely unrelated results - even after excluding 6-10 words and adding several filters. I'm tired of it, and I want to do something about it. If anyone knows of a formal channel available for reporting heavy abusers of the keyword system, I'm all ears.