Josh Forwood

Why are my sale figfures so low

I'm new to stock so please forgive me if this is a very beginner question, in the week that I've been on Shutterstock, I've sold 8 images and 1 video (which is more than I was expecting to have sold this early on).

However, each image is only making me $0.10 profit. Is this really the rate I should be getting? On Getty I get between $0.37 and $1.05 per image sale as my starting rate.

If this is normal then I apologise but it seems surprisingly low. Thanks everyone and I hope you're managing to stay safe.

Yes, that's the "new normal" on Shutterstock.
It's possible to get more as the prices depend on what plan a customer has with SS, but most sales will be around 0.10$.

With all the discussions and outrage online in various platforms, I'm surprised you didn't know about the recent massive pay cut to SS contributors. Some contributors have had their income reduced by 50%, sometimes more. Many people have decided to disable their portfolios and leave because of this. 

I'm getting tired of all those $0.10 photo sales and $1.00 video sales on Shutterstock these days.  I think I'll have to turn off my portfolio if this low sales continue here.  I can't undercut myself on other sites like Pond5 and AdobeStock that pay decent money for sales.  Shutterstock is becoming iStock/Getty.  Big mistake for Shutterstock.  We'll see a massive exodus of contributors soon if Shutterstock doesn't stop those cheap disrespectful sales/commission.

5 minutes ago, blvdone said:

We'll see a massive exodus of contributors soon if Shutterstock doesn't stop those cheap disrespectful sales/commission.

It's already happening and I don't think SS cares.

15 minutes ago, blvdone said: